+91 8617752708

Editorial Board Members



Chief Editor    


Prof. Hans Verhagen
Head, Centre for Nutrition and Health,

National Institute for Public Health and the Environment (RIVM), Bilthoven,

The Netherlands

See Brief profile



Associate Editors


Dr. Mary Ward,
School of Biomedical Sciences, University of Ulster,
Northern Ireland.


Dr. Morten Poulsen,
Head of research group, Div. of Toxicology and Risk Assessment,

National Food Institute, Technical University of Denmark,



Prof. Bernhard Watzl
Head, Department of Physiology and Biochemistry of Nutrition
Max Rubner-Institute, Karlsruhe,




Editorial Board Members


Prof. D.S. Jayas
Vice-President (Research), University of Manitoba,



Dr. Øydis Ueland
Director, Consumer and Sensory Sciences, Nofima Mat AS



Dr. Helga Gunnlaugsdóttir
Head of Department & group leader, Matis, Reykjavík,



Dr. Mariusz K. Piskula
Department of Chemistry and Biodynamics of Food,

Institute of Animal Reproduction and Food Research,



Professor Franco Lajolo
University of Sao Paulo,



Dr Alfonso Clemente,
Department of Physiology and Biochemistry of Animal Nutrition,
Estacion Experimental del Zaidin (CSIC), Profesor Albareda 1, Granada, Spain


Prof. Kazunori
Hironaka, Obihiro University,



Dr. Thaddeus Ezeji

Biotechnology and Fermentation Group,

Wooster Ohio,



Dr B.S.M. Mahmoud
Experimental Seafood Processing Laboratory,
Mississippi State University,



Dr. Qiang Liu
Guelph Food Research Centre, Agri-Food Canada,
University of Guelph,



Dr Muhittin Tayfur
Department of Nutrition and Dietetics, Baskent University,



Publication history: European Journal of Food Research & Review (EJFRR) continued as European Journal of Nutrition & Food Safety (EJNFS).



Note: We are thankful to all editors for their sincere help and support to develop this journal. All editors confirmed their joining in the board by writing. Names of the remaining editors (if any) will be published soon.




Section: Meet our Editors  


Prof. Hans Verhagen, Chief Editor    

Prof. Hans Verhagen (1957) studied chemistry at the Universities of Nijmegen (NL) and Paris (FR). He did his PhD on food toxicology at the University of Maastricht (NL; thesis in 1989). From 1990-2000 he worked at the TNO Nutrition and Food Research Institute in Zeist (NL). From 2000-2005 he worked for Unilever in Vlaardingen (NL). Since May 2005 he is Head of the Centre for Nutrition and Health at the National Institute for Public Health and the Environment (RIVM), Bilthoven, NL (www.rivm.nl/en). He is frequently asked to lecture and chair at international scientific meetings. He is a regular member of international scientific committees and is editorial board member of various scientific journals. From 1999-2004 he was editor-in-chief of “Food & Chemical Toxicology” (http://www.elsevier.com/locate/foodchemtox). From 2011 he is Chief Editor of the “European Journal of Food Research & Review” (http://www.sciencedomain.org/journal-home.php?id=1). He is a board-certified nutritionist (since 2005) and a board-certified toxicologist (since 1990). Since July 2006 he is a member of the EFSA-NDA panel (European Food Safety Authority: Nutrition, Dietetic products and Allergies; http://www.efsa.europa.eu/EFSA/ScientificPanels/efsa_locale-1178620753812_NDA.htm). Current scientific interests are scientific substantiation of health claims, integrated benefit-risk assessment, novel foods, nutritional safety, food fortification, biomarkers, antioxidants. Since 2009 he holds an honorary position at the University of Maastricht (NL). Since November 2009 he is a visiting professor at the University of Ulster (Northern Ireland).


Our Contacts

Guest House Road, Street no - 1/6,
Hooghly, West Bengal,

+91 8617752708


Third Floor, 207 Regent Street
London, W1B 3HH,

+44 20-3031-1429